Font Size:


  • THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.

    THE DEPARTMENT INCLUDES MORE THAN 300 PROGRAMS, covering a wide spectrum of activities. Some highlights include:
    • Health and social science research
    • Preventing disease, including immunization services
    • Assuring food and drug safety
    • Medicare (health insurance for elderly and disabled Americans) and
    • Medicaid (health insurance for low-income people)
    • Health information technology
    • Financial assistance and services for low-income families
    • Improving maternal and infant health
    • Head Start (pre-school education and services)
    • Faith-based and community initiatives
    • Preventing child abuse and domestic violence
    • Substance abuse treatment and prevention
    • Services for older Americans, including home-delivered meals
    • Comprehensive health services for Native Americans
    • Medical preparedness for emergencies, including potential terrorism.